New beginnings

First off, I want to apologize for disappearing for so long.  I know I am going to feel so much better after writing this post, just because I’ve had so many thoughts looming that I want to write about!

This has been the most stressful starts to school ever.  Stupid FBI took forever processing my fingerprints for nursing school, and its been a NIGHTMARE.  But putting that nonsense aside, I am happy in every other aspect because I finally feel comfortable here

Although its a blurry pic…thats me and some nursing pals on the first night of NSO, and I’d like to say I chose a thumbs up appropriately because I am subconsciously SO HAPPY at school for, like, the first time, ever.  (Dad- you’re going to hate that sentence, but it just sounded so good!)

For those of you who know me well, you’ve known my ups and downs here at Penn, and I won’t bore the rest of you with a sob story..but I really let a lot of things get to my head.  For instance, the fact that I dropped out of sorority recruitment after how horrified I was with the whole system, really stuck with me for a lot of my sophomore year.

On the last night before I left for school, I was hanging out with my brother Patrick, who can be the best listener.  I started to tell him how I need to find something to get involved with at school, and when he asked me about what happened with sororities…I felt sick to my stomach.  I literally started pouring tears, recounting the rejection I felt and the hurt that I let dig so deep underneath my skin.  So deep I almost let it become a permanent tattoo, displaying the image of a huuuuge chip on my shoulder

It was at that moment that I decided this year would be different, that I would join things…get involved…and overall, be. happy. And so far, I’ve had a smile on my face the entire time…

Well, maybe not the ENTIRE time, cuz that’d be a little creepy, but you get the point 🙂

I already have a few groups on my radar to join, including Big Brothers-Big Sisters which is a community outreach program where Penn students “adopt” a West Philly elementary school kid as a buddy!  Sounds like it could be really fun and really rewarding

I think it was really hard for me to leave high school on the “top of the heap” …captain of the lacrosse team, secretary of the school, succeeding academically without much effort, and being a member of not one, but two close-knit groups of friends.  I sort of laughed at everyone who was worried about college, because as pompous as it may sound, I just “knew” I’d be fine

And when I wasn’t? My whole world was practically overturned.  There were so many nights that I considered transferring, so many nights that I really thought I should check myself into a mental hospital, and so many days where I questioned who I was and if my past successes were ever really valid after all the disappointments I’d encountered

But in hindsight, I had a lot of growing up to do…being the baby in a big family probably sheltered me more than I ever realized.  It took me a long time to establish a back bone for myself…but once I learned to do what makes me happy, the rest all fell into place

On another note, I do have a super great recipe to share to incorporate some “healthy eats” back into this blog!  For my last night before heading back to school, I chose a Shrimp Pad-Thai recipe from Spark Recipes. I LOVE pad thai, but I’ve also heard that it can be pretty calorie/fat-laden from a restaurant.  This healthy alternative was phenomenal, and I highly recommend it!

Delicious and definitely worth recreating! I apologize for the verbose post with minimal pictures, but that will change soon!  Hope everyone else is having a great week 🙂

One response to “New beginnings

Leave a Reply

