Rainy days

Yesterday, was a rainy day.  It felt like October, and I have to admit…I was getting a little excited for fall.  I love fall and all of its smells, feels, and looks.  I’ve always been that kid who waits anxiously for their back to school list and can’t wait to just get back to school by the time the last week of August rolls around.  This year, I’m looking forward to fall, but I definitely have been wondering where summer 2010 went.  It feels like Memorial Day was just a week ago, and now here I am getting ready to start my junior year of college…too fast!

Well I spent my rainy day well, just lounging and relaxing.  I started the day with a good bowl of Kashi Good Friends cereal-Cinnamon Raisin flavor, with a sliced up banana

Bananas with cereal and milk is one of the best treats.  I ran a few errands with the madre and then we stopped at the grocery store to grab a few things.  We picked up a large container of split pea soup, and I was immediately excited for a hot soup lunch, the perfect antidote for a cold, rainy day…

Although I had wished for some kind of hard, multigrain roll to dip into the soup, a slice of my Ezekial Bread made a great substitute and worked just as well.

In the afternoon, I realized I had nowhere to be and nothing to do, so I took to the couch to watch some movies.  Nothing worthwhile on TV, but the relaxing hour or two on the couch proved second to absolutely nothing.  I put together a bowl of fresh grapes to snack on and made a large, steaming cup of hot coffee sweetened with plenty of milk and agave nectar.  YUM.

All cozied up under a blanket with a warm mug of sweet coffee…I could probably do this all fall.  Later in the afternoon, I made plans with my friend Raquel to get some sushi downtown.  We had an awesome dinner at Masago, a new Japanese place with the best sushi I’ve ever tasted.  They have a huge selection of specialty rolls, each one better than the next.  Last night I chose the Ridgewood Roll, substituting brown rice and soybean nori paper.  The soybean nori is a pink soy paper wrapped around the roll instead of seaweed.  It is one of my favorite new things to do with sushi and adds a unique, crisp taste, yet not as offensive as seaweed can sometimes be.

It was great to catch up with Raquel over some delicious food.  We spent the remainder of the night hanging out and watching TV (Real Housewives of NJ!!!!) I don’t follow the season closely, but I love to pick up an episode here and there.  Although last night’s finale was nothing like the table flipping drama of last season’s finale, it was still pretty good.

In other news…I made some progress with my blog yesterday!!! While lounging on the couch, I was looking through other food blogs and came across an advertisement for Healthy Living Blogs , a website designed to link the community of food bloggers and readers.  This was the perfect spot for me..someone who’s just begun a blog and is trying to get the word out.  My blog will be featured on the site now for all to find.

If anyone else is interested in the website, here is a little more information:

Healthy Living Blogs is a new resource for the health blogging community. Created by Lindsey of Sound Eats, HLB is a site designed to enhance the positive community of the healthy living blog world. Bloggers and readers can explore the site and find more blogs to love, bloggers in their area, and forums to deepen healthy discussion and support. If you’re interested in having your site listed on HLB, simply send the following information to healthylivingblogs@gmail.com and check the site out for yourself!

  • Email subject line: MEMBERS

  • Your name (please share if you prefer to go by first name, first and last, or however you prefer to be known on the Internet)

  • Blog Name

  • Blog URL (please start with http://, not www.)

  • Your twitter handle, if applicable

Your location (if you prefer not to disclose this information for privacy’s sake, that is completely understandable. We’ll simply include your blog listing in the A-Z listing, not by location, too

Any specific labels (i.e. vegan, gluten-free, weight loss, running, etc.)”


Hopefully it will help to get the word out about Munching to Mend! Off to the gym, have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

