“Still I would never find a lovelier design…”

As I pondered a creative title for this post, I could all but ignore the B.o.B. lyrics that are still resounding in my head after last night’s concert!  My friend, Megan, bought tickets to see B.o.B. at Irving Plaza in NYC and invited me to go.  Despite my perpetual summer laziness, I finally manned up and decided to go…and I couldn’t be happier with my decision! The concert was AWESOME.  For those of you who aren’t familiar, B.o.B. is a rapper/song writer with a truly creative and unique album that includes multiple styles of songs.  There’s a few fast-paced beats in songs like Airplanes and Magic that rock z100, and then there’s a quieter, mellow side, which includes my favorite song of theirs, Lovelier than You, the lyrics I chose for this blog title.  Overall, it was an incredible show and I’m so glad I went!

Yesterday was the first day I documented my eats through photos, but I’m still trying to get the hang of taking attractive food pictures.  If anyone has any advice let me know!  In the morning, I woke up and made myself a great bowl of oatmeal with some agave syrup (my new favorite sweetener) and some Craisins

Dried fruit makes a boring bowl of oatmeal taste AWESOME

My day was pretty uneventful, but I managed to make it home to assemble one of my favorite sandwiches for lunch.  I’ve been trying out this new bread, made by a company called Ezekial.  For those of you who like whole grain or wheat breads, I highly recommend trying this brand.  While I found this loaf of Sprouted Sourdough at Whole Foods, I’ve seen it sold at Stop and Shop and regular grocery stores as well.  It just has so much flavor and is the perfect amount of soft chewy-ness.  I laid out two slices of that bread and spread on some hummus before adding tomato and avocado slices.  A really simple vegetarian sandwich, but it tasted great and kept me full all afternoon.

In the afternoon, my brother Patrick and I went to the driving range to hit some golf balls.  I’ve only picked up the game of golf in the last 3 weeks or so, but I’m really enjoying it and starting to get the hang of it.  Patrick is a great teacher, as well, and really got me hitting them straight and far.  That always feels great.  When I got home, I made a delectable snack that could fool anyone on its actual nutritional stats….

Perhaps the best combo ever..

+  

Greek Yogurt and a Chocolate-Chocolate Chip VitaTop!  Just to make things even better, the Greek yogurt I chose is Oikos 0% Chocolate flavor, which has a layer of chocolate at the bottom that you stir in.  For someone with a raging sweet tooth like me, the combination is unbeatable and the muffin top crumbles so well into the yogurt.  VitaMuffins are another product I’m absolutely in love with, because it looks and feels like an indulgent muffin while staying around 100 calories with barely any preservatives or sugars.  A healthy treat that could trick anyone into thinking they are eating a brownie sundae!

For dinner, Megan and I went to Whole Foods where I picked out a crab cake (I’m really eating a lot of them lately) and some fresh berries.  I didn’t have my camera with me as to photograph this meal, but it was absolutely delectable.  Whole Foods makes great crab cakes, with the perfect proportions of filler and crab meat.

Then it was concert time!  As I said earlier, we had an amazing time.  When I got home, despite it being 1:30 AM, I decided to try a recipe I’ve been reading about on various food blogs for years now…OVERNIGHT OATS.  I’ve just woken up to try them, and they lived up to every single expectation I had, plus some. Absolutely phenomenal.  But I’ll have to post more about that later! Off to day 2…

Leave a Reply

